h1

USMNT Roster for Cuba and T&T

August 28, 2008

Here is Bob Bradley’s 20 man squad for the next two World Cup Qualifiers. Prepare to be underwhelmed.

GOALKEEPERS:

Tim Howard, Brad Guzan.

DEFENDERS:

Carlos Bocanegra, Oguchi Onyewu, Heath Pearce, Frankie Hejduk, Danny Califf, Steve Cherundolo, Michael Orozco, Marvell Wynne.

MIDFIELDERS:

DaMarcus Beasley, Michael Bradley, Ricardo Clark, Maurice Edu, Eddie Lewis, Sacha Kljestan.

FORWARDS:

Brian Ching, Landon Donovan, Clint Dempsey, Eddie Johnson.

My Thoughts: Tears fill my eyes as I post this.  Once again, Bob Bradley has left out Kenny Cooper.  And certainly I’m not the only American that is extremely disappointed by this omission, so WHAT IS GOING ON?

The absences of Jozy and Freddy aren’t that surprising as they’re still settling in at their respective new clubs.  But apparently Eddie Johnson doesn’t need to settle in, because Bradley has once again called up the underperforming Grown Ass Man. Oh and Edu doesn’t need to settle in either, according to Coach Bob.  Thanks for being consistent.  Ugh.

Ricardo Clark also pops into the squad but he faces stiff competition with Michael Bradley and Maurice Edu in the middle (but I suppose I wouldn’t be that surprised if Bob starts Clark over Edu at this point).

I’m glad to see Wynne in the squad, he showed some terrific flashes at the Olympics (in addition to showing some weak parts of his game), and he should see some good minutes in Cherundolos absence.  Michael Orozco also gets the nod, which is strange I think, because I don’t think he has a future as an outside defender, and Bob also called in Dan Califf.  So I guess we really needed 4 center backs.

And don’t even get me started on our forwards. Brian Ching makes me want to puke in my mouth. No Offense Bri.

What do you think of the squad? Disappointed there’s no Kenny?

–psc

6 comments

  1. Bob Bradley must be scared of his own shadow. I don’t see how he can stick with nearly the same exact squad that deserved to lose to Guatemala. Is he that afraid to make adjustments?


  2. I thought Brian Ching worked his a$$ off in the Guatemala match. So did John Harkes. Try puking in your mouth and see if that helps.


  3. No Cooper, Adu,Altidore, Buddle? BB is a freaking Nepotist, he keeps playing his son, and other usless craps like Johnson, Dempsey, Ching.
    the whole kwik e-mart staff (Sunil, B.Bradley, Novak)must go


  4. soccer man: unfortunately working “your a$$ off” isn’t enough at this level. I could get a high school player to work his ass off too, but that wouldn’t mean that it was the best decision for the team.


  5. I don’t want a forward who work his ass off or contributes defensively. I want one guy who loafs around, has attitude, then blows my fucking mind with a sweet touch and scores a goal. When was the last time a US Forward scored a good goal in the run of play (and Barbados doesn’t count…)


  6. Amen to that. I want the fat lazy American version of ronaldo.



Leave a Reply

